I made a food blog (for real)

I’ve taught myself how to cook through food blogs.

My first food photo. 6/30/2011 Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with homemade Cookies and Cream Frosting (from howsweeteats.com)

My first food photo. 6/30/2011
Cookies and Cream Cupcakes with homemade Cookies and Cream Frosting (from howsweeteats.com)

It was the summer after my sophomore year of college and I was going to start an internship in the fall. During this time, I realized that the dorm cafeteria and my mom were my primary sources of food and I had no idea how to feed myself (or live on my own). A friend recommended howsweeteats.com as a source to find recipes and I picked my favorite (savory recipe) to try and cook.

I chose Chicken Romano with Parmesan Risotto on the side. (What can I say, I was ambitious). [recipes here and here] And with that my passion for cooking began.

Yum.

Yum.

Fast forward three years later and I have graduated college with my degree in Aerospace Engineering from the University of Illinois and have started my career with Rolls-Royce in Indianapolis.

IMG_5054

BTW, Rolls-Royce makes JET ENGINES NOT CARS. Jet engines are so much cooler than luxury cars. Anyway, three years later, I still love to cook. Mostly from other people’s food blogs. So why am I making my own?

A) I love taking awesome (bad) pictures of everything I cook on my iPhone.

One of many examples.

One of many examples.

B) I’m proud that I can cook things that are edible and usually tasty.

Like this. This was yummy.

Like this. This was yummy.

C) I know a lot of people who think they don’t have the time/know-how to cook. And that’s a dumb assumption.

I’m out to prove the cooking is NOT Rocket Science. And you have to trust me, I am an actual rocket scientist. (hehe)

Who has met other famous rocket scientists. Like CoughMike HopkinsCough.

Who has met other famous rocket scientists. Like coughMike Hopkinscough.

I plan on posting my first recipe tomorrow, which is from the Minimalist Baker’s 31 Meals Cookbook.

I also plan on having at least one aerospace post a week (because SCIENCE) and one life rant a week. All in all, this is the start of my own food blog. It’ll be fun to see how it turns out.

– Sarah

Leave a Reply

