Veggie Bibimbap With a Fried Egg: The Easiest Way to Force Yourself to Eat Veggies

Rocket Science Scale: 2 (Vegetable Cook Times May Vary)

Recipe Base is from Minimalist Baker’s 31 Meals Cookbook

So I love veggies. All types. Spinach and broccoli are my favorites. Kale is good too. I still don’t like brussels sprouts but that probably because I didn’t eat them growing up and no one is forcing me to buy them now. So I’ll probably live in blissful ignorance and continue to claim brussels sprouts suck.

Veggie Bibimbap

I also prefer my veggies cooked. For example, carrots are always better cooked. With blue cheese on the side.

Soon to be cooked carrots.

Soon to be cooked carrots.

This dish contains a ton of cooked veggies. AND it tastes so good, you want to continue eating the veggies. I gave it a 2 on my rocket science scale because while there are not a lot of ingredients, you do need to know the cook time for all of them. And sometimes wrong timing can ruin your veggies (more on that next week). BUT it’s a seven big step dish and only took me 45 minutes (second time I’ve made this).

So here is my Veggie Bibimbap! It is a Korean dish and the focus is on putting a bunch of vegetables over rice. My kind of dish.

The Stuff.

The Stuff.

The Stuff:

– 1 cup cooked rice

– As many chopped veggies as you want (3 cups is a good amount, I put more in the dish above.)

– 1 shallot (I used 1/2 an onion instead)

– 1 clove garlic (If you put more veggies, you may need more garlic)

– 2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil (this is very important)

– 1 teaspoon soy sauce

– salt

– as many eggs as people who are eating.

The Sauce:

– 3 tablespoons chili garlic sauce (Probably the most important)

– 1.5 tablespoons honey

– 1/2 teaspoon soy sauce

– 1 teaspoon rice vinegar (or a white vinegar would work too. Or just leave it out)

– 1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil

Directions: 

1. I will start by saying I cheated and used leftover brown rice from earlier in the week. If you need to cook it follow your package directions. BUT to make the rice perfect, once it is cooked, add a teaspoon soy sauce and sesame oil. I forgot this step when I made this dish the second time (It is definitely worth making a second time) and it really made a difference! While it was still delicious, you really do need to season the rice.

Rice. That will soon be in my BELLY!

Rice. That will soon be in my BELLY!

2. I then started by cutting all my veggies into pieces. For this version of bibimbap I used:

Onion (1/2 onion diced)

I add more onion after I cut up my other veggies. You'll see in a second.

I add more onion after I cut up my other veggies. You’ll see in a second.

Carrots (I sliced around 10 baby carrots into fourths)

Soon to be cooked carrots.

Haven’t I seen these before?

Broccoli ( I just chopped enough to match my carrots)

Gorgeous broccoli from the Broad Ripple Farmer's Market.

Gorgeous broccoli from the Broad Ripple Farmer’s Market.

At this point, I added more onion to match my other veggie piles.

Seems kind of even. Now there's too much onion.

Seems kind of even.

Then I added

Kale 

I used about half of this.

I used about half of this.

which I turned into a KALE MOUNTAIN

MWHAHAHAHA. ... Sorry, This was my favorite part of the prep.

MWHAHAHAHA

Sorry about that. The mountain was my favorite part of the prep.

Then I added Bean Sprouts (I used a can. 1/2 can would probably work too, make sure to rinse it)

IMG_6430

4. Next make the sauce!

IMG_6432

Don't forget this guy.

Don’t forget this guy.

It’s really simple, mix all the ingredients together with a whisk or fork. Be warned though. The chili garlic sauce is spicy, so if you are sensitive to spice, put less in your mixture or add more honey at the end. This sauce is my favorite part of this dish, so don’t skip it! This is not a stir fry, its a bibimbap! (which is such a fun word to attempt to say).

I like mine spicy. So I put in the full 3 tablespoons.

I like mine spicy. So I put in the full 3 tablespoons.

5. At this point it is time to cook the veggies. I will say, the first time I made this, I took the Minimalist Baker approach and cooked all my veggies in separate corners to make a pretty bowl like this:

Soo Pretty

Soo Pretty

This time I threw them all in together but at threw in the veggies at different times. Each veggie was cooked with the sesame oil.

Make sure to add some salt and pepper to them!

Make sure to add some salt and pepper to them!

I started with the onions (5-7 minutes) (which made me regret my kale mountain), then threw in the carrots (about 2 minutes after the onions) and broccoli (2 minutes after the carrots), then the kale (a minute after the broccoli) and lastly the bean sprouts (these only need to cook for about two minutes at the end). Next time I make this I will probably put the kale in earlier, because when I tested for done-ness, I thought the veggies need more time.

So I put a lid on it.

So I put a lid on it.

6. Next, I added a fried egg on top. I think a hard boiled egg would also taste great with this dish OR some beef slices on top.

And the obsession continues.

And the obsession continues.

7. Then I assembled my bibimbap and put the rice in my bowl, then the veggies, then the egg and topped it with a lot of sauce! It should look like this:

YUMMY

YUMMY

This dish took approximately 45 minutes to make. If you want a pretty bowl/or a beef protein, it would probably be around 50/55.

IMG_6460

This is my second time making this dish and there will definitely be a third. Probably a fourth. Maybe even a fifth, that’s how much I encourage you to make it. I like how you can put whatever veggies you want in the bowl, so look out for a October or November Bibimbap in the future!

Happy Cooking!

IMG_6461

(I really like this picture of the runny yolk going into my dish :D)

3 thoughts on “Veggie Bibimbap With a Fried Egg: The Easiest Way to Force Yourself to Eat Veggies

Leave a Reply

