Roasted Red Pepper Pepperoni Pizza (Say that five times fast): Quick Pretentious Pizza

Rocket Science Scale: 2 (3 if you roast all the veggies like I did)

My favorite pizza is Giordano’s Deep Dish Pepperoni Pizza (Pepperonis under the sauce).

Allllll the Sauce.

Allllll the Sauce.

(Which I just found out is coming to Indianapolis…. I’m SO PUMPED – http://www.indystar.com/story/life/2014/06/04/giordanos-pizzeria-coming-to-indy/9960209/)

My favorite pizza is only slightly pretentious. Cause it’s deep dish. But Giordano’s also has non-pretentious pizza which is its thin crust pepperoni pizza. Just sauce, cheese and my favorite classic pizza topping.

In Indy, most of the pizza is very pretentious. And by pretentious pizza, I mean the ones that have the fancy toppings (like roasted tomatoes and arugula, peppers and goat cheese, chorizo and jalapeños, you get the picture). Not to say the pizza isn’t good but it’s not the simple pizza I wanted.

Like this pizza I made. It's a zucchini sweet corn pizza from howsweeteats.com.

Like this pizza I made. It’s a zucchini sweet corn pizza from howsweeteats.com. I even put micro-greens and a balsamic drizzle on top. So pretentious.

So I planned on making a quick semi-homemade non-pretentious pizza. I ended up trashing it up and adding a bunch of roasted vegetables (which I’ll talk more about in tomorrow’s post). So sorry, this post is really about how I am a huge hypocrite and about the time I made quick pretentious pizza(s).

These guys.

These guys.

The Star is the Roasted Red Pepper Pizza. I used some leftover pesto to make an even more pretentious pesto pepper pizza and then some roasted garlic to make some garlic bread. But the easier route is to just make the pizza on top. I tasted better too.

So Roasted Red Pepper Pepperoni Pizza– My Pretentious (and Quick!) Version on the Classic Pepperoni Pizza.

The Stuff:

IMG_0041

Essentials:

– Fresh Mozzarella (My personal favorite part of this pizza)

– A Ciabatta loaf

– Pizza Sauce

– Parmesan Cheese

– Pepperoni

– Roasted Red Peppers (they come in jars near the pickles. I made mine myself)

– Olive Oil and Garlic

Extras:

– Broccoli and Kale

– Fresh Basil

– Pesto (if you don’t want a tomato sauce)

– Roasted Garlic (which I used instead of regular garlic)

The Steps:

1. Cut your Ciabatta loaf in half. This is what makes the pizza quick, because we are not making a homemade crust! If you haven’t noticed, I am a slight pizza snob and I prefer bread over a cheap store bought crust…. but that’s just me. Do whatever is easier for you!

Yummy Carbs.

Yummy Carbs.

2. Chop up you fresh mozzarella and some basil. I got mine from the farmer’s market, and OMG does FRESH mozzarella taste so much better then store bought.

Where I got the cheese from.

Where I got the cheese from.

Cheese straight out of the container. The liquid seen is the brine which is what keeps if fresh without vacuum sealing it.

Cheese straight out of the container. The liquid seen is the brine which is what keeps if fresh without vacuum sealing it.

Chop it all up!

Chop it all up!

Add as much cheese as you want. I didn’t use all of mine and saved some for a pasta dish I would make later in the week.

3. Start the Assembly:

3a) Put some olive oil and garlic on top of your bread loafs.IMG_0072

3b) Put the Sauce on the bread.

The roasted red pepper pizza used the tomato sauce on the right.

The roasted red pepper pizza used the tomato sauce on the right.

3c) Add the toppings! Remember you don’t need the broccoli or kale, but I added them to try and be healthier!

The veggies!

The veggies!

Then add the pepperoni!

Then add the pepperoni!

DON’T FORGET THE ROASTED RED PEPPER! It’s what makes my pizza the best. By roasting the pepper, it brings out the natural sweetness and it really is much tastier this way.

THE ROASTED RED PEPPER

THE ROASTED RED PEPPER

3d) Add the CHEESE (sorry, these are ingredients worth yelling about 😀 )

It's going to melt beautifully.

It’s going to melt beautifully.

4. Now bake in the oven at 400 for about 13-15 minutes. The Cheese will be melted and delicious! And Ta-Dah!

Roasted Red Pepper Pepperoni Pizza, A Delicious Classic with a veggie twist. Which can take about 20 -25 minutes to make.

Yum.

Yum. – Also top with fresh basil.

With Some Roasted Garlic Bread:

IMG_0082

Happy Cooking!!!

Oh what about that pesto pizza? Did I forget a picture?

No. I just made a wonderful cooking mistake. I wanted to cook an egg on top of my loaf. Which did not stay on the bread and immediately fell off. Which I then grabbed and forced back onto the loaf:

At least it's on the pizza?

At least it’s on the pizza?

And then this happened after I baked it:

Egg down. EGG DOWN.

Egg down. EGG DOWN.

So lesson learned, I’m am not the next Alex Guarnaschelli.

To try and fix this one, I would probably not try and fit a fried egg on a bread loaf. Or I would try and make more of a border to prevent the egg from falling. I’m sure I’ll figure it out the next time I make it.

But for Real Now, Happy Cooking! Hope your pizza comes out with less failure and more AWESOME.

Pizza Salvaged. And then promptly put into my belly.

Pizza Salvaged. And then promptly put into my belly.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Red Pepper Pepperoni Pizza (Say that five times fast): Quick Pretentious Pizza

Leave a Reply

