Roasted Peppers, Garlic and Veggies: A Lesson in Using Your Oven

Rocket Science Scale: 0 (Kitchen Basics)

So the more I cook, the more I learn that there are things I should just know. Like how to cut an onion properly (nope). Or how long the chicken needs to be cooked so it doesn’t kill you (I’ve got that one).

And I’m added roasting peppers to that list. And garlic. And veggies. With an oven. Unfortunately, none of the apartments I live in allow gas stoves, so I can’t just roast them over an open flame. But I always have an oven at hand when cooking, so this post is all oven related.

Roasted.

Roasted.

I will say, I’ve been roasting broccoli for a while now. Because its my favorite veggie and I tried it in this delicious dish once and now I eat roasted broccoli like candy. CANDY. 

But roasting the peppers is new. How did I learn this awesome skill? The internet. I’ve read a few blogs, learned a few methods and then tried them. Here are the results, starting with a red pepper and garlic.

Method 1: Using the Oven at 400 degF.

Best Buddies.

Best Buddies.

Step 1. Chop the top of the garlic off so the cloves are exposed. Make sure all of them are exposed or it won’t roast properly.

IMG_0028

Step 2. Drizzle olive oil over the top of the garlic, making sure each clove is covered. Then wrap in tin foil

IMG_0029

IMG_0037

Step 3. Next through the red pepper and garlic in the oven! This is the boring part because you have to wait. IMG_0053

Step 4. Wait 10 minutes. Then turn the red pepper. and cook for another 10 minutes. Then turn the red pepper. Continue to do two more times until the pepper has been fully rotated. (cook the pepper for about 40 minutes). At the same time, just let the garlic be.

Step 5. Take out of the oven. Let the garlic cool for about 15 minutes so you don’t burn your fingers. Put the pepper in a paper bag or under a glass bowl to steam for at least fifteen minutes.

I tried the bowl with this method. And don't mind the flattened pepper. I only accidentally on purpose dropped it on the floor when I tried to transfer it from the baking sheet to the cutting board.

I tried the bowl with this method. And don’t mind the flattened pepper. I only accidentally on purpose dropped it on the floor when I tried to transfer it from the baking sheet to the cutting board.

Pro tip: Your pepper will be very soft from being roasted. So it might fall out of the tongs you use to pick it up.

Step 6 – Garlic. Once the garlic is cool to the touch, all you have to do is squeeze it out. In the future I will probably leave the garlic in longer to get more caramel-ly.

IMG_0063

Step 6 – Pepper. Now take the pepper out of its steamer and de-seed it. Then take of the skin. This is the point where leaving the pepper in the oven longer would help because if it is charred then the skin comes off easily. With the oven method it was a little harder.

My pepper!

My pepper!

turned and cut to be de-seeded

turned and cut to be de-seeded

No Seeds!

No Seeds!

Now to take off the skin.

Now to take off the skin.

Final delicious product.

Final delicious product.

I used the roasted pepper and roasted garlic above in my roasted red pepper pepperoni pizza. 

Method 2. Using The Broiler <– I liked this better

The Stuff.

The Stuff.

Put the broiler for your oven on high. Wait a few minutes and then put the peppers in the oven.

IMG_6536Using this method, your peppers will cook in the oven for a total time of 20 minutes! Every five minutes turn the red pepper on a 1/4 rotation. Once you hit the 10 minute mark, flip the jalapeños.

So 20 minutes and then take out your peppers. They should look like this.

Roasted.

There is a lot more char with the broiler method. Which is actually really helpful when taking off the skin!

Next put the peppers in plastic bags. 5 minutes for the jalapeños and 15-20 minutes for the red pepper.

IMG_6565

Cutting time! De-seed and take off the skin.

Jalapeños:

IMG_6579

Cut in half.

Cut in half.

Flipped.

Flipped.

Skins off!

Skins off!

Now Diced!

Now Diced!

Two Pro Tips: 1) when working with the jalapeños do not put  your fingers near your eyes! They will have the spice of the jalapeños on them and it will hurt.

2) Watch the jalapeño in the oven. The whole point of roasting is to make the pepper more tender. Since I was cooking chili while roasting these peppers (recipe coming soon) i let the jalapeños in a little longer than I was supposed to and ended up burning the pepper and not just the pepper flesh. As seen in the picture above.

Red Pepper:

The Pepper

The Pepper

I took off the skin first because it was SO EASY with this method.

I took off the skin first because it was SO EASY with this method.

Cut and de-seeded

Cut and de-seeded

And chopped into fourths to then be diced!

And chopped into fourths to then be diced!

This method was much easier than Method #1. I think the first method would be good if you were roasting a bunch of peppers  at once. At that point it might be good to just buy them canned!

And last but not least:

Roasting Broccoli and Kale

So, these are two very different veggies. And my first reaction was to treat them the same. Whoops.

IMG_0047

But they look the same! Kinda. (Not really at all, but just roll with it)

So, I roasted the broccoli and kale at the same time as the pepper and garlic above.

Before roasting, put some salt pepper and olive oil over the veggies.

IMG_0052

Pro tip: Turn the sides of your aluminum foil upwards so the olive oil won’t spill on your baking sheet.

I cooked the broccoli and kale in the oven for 20 minutes at 400 deg F. This was fine for the broccoli (which I new from my experience) but not fine for the kale.

As Shown here. The Kale is on the right.

As Shown here. The Kale is on the right.

The broccoli was perfect though (again I eat it like candy).

And since I failed at the kale, I looked up another recipe and tried again!

More delicious kale to be burned.

More delicious kale to be burned.

So here is how you should actually roast kale.

Season with salt, pepper, olive oil. optional: red pepper flakes.

IMG_6624

Remember corners up!

But seriously. Do it.

But seriously. Do it.

Cook the Kale at 350 (much lower than 400 right!?) for 10 minutes, and then shake and cook for another 10. For a total of 20 minutes. Instead of burnt kale you end up with this:

If the lighting isn't sending you a strong message, I'll just tell you. This turned out much better.

If the lighting isn’t sending you a strong message, I’ll just tell you. This turned out much better.

And whew. 1000 words later. Thanks for reading to the bottom!!  I hope I’ve encouraged you enough to try and roast something.

As a prize for making it to the end, here is the prettiest picture of kale I have ever taken. It just screams EAT ME.

As a prize for making it to the end, here is the prettiest picture of kale I have ever taken. It just screams EAT ME.

Happy Cooking, Use your oven!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Peppers, Garlic and Veggies: A Lesson in Using Your Oven

Leave a Reply

