It’s a Pizza Pasta: Using Ingredients Over and Over

Rocket Science Scale: 2

Hey Guyyyyyyysssss.

IMG_6525

So last week I made Roasted Red Pepper Pepperoni Pizza and it was delicious. Seriously. Who doesn’t like pizza? (My younger sister that’s who … but she’s weird so I just accept it).

But I love her anyway. She's on the right.

I mean who doesn’t love melted cheese? And Sauce? 

But if you don’t want to make a pizza from scratch or spend money on a pretentious pizza, you can always make pasta that tastes like pizza. Especially if you have leftover ingredients from lasts weeks pizza. I’m a huge fan of buying one or more ingredients (in this case pepperoni and fresh mozzarella) and using them for multiple recipes. 

So here we go!

Pizza Pasta

Recipe adapted from How Sweet Eats Pizza Pasta 

The Stuff:

IMG_6489

– Pepperoni (about 15)

– Fresh Mozzarella (about 1 oz)

– A cup Pizza or Tomato Sauce (I used a basil & garlic sauce. For an extra strong pizza flavor use actually pizza sauce). Add more or less depending on how much pasta you cook.

– about 2 cups pasta

– 1/2 tablespoon Italian seasoning.

– red pepper flakes to taste (adds some spice).

– provolone cheese ( I used 3 slices from the deli)

– Parmesan cheese for topping (about 2 tablespoons).

Not needed but I added:

– half a sweet onion

– 1 bag spinach (not necessary but I like it)

The Steps:

1. Boil water in a medium sized pot. (you can salt the water for extra flavor in your pasta).  While water is coming to a boil, cut your pepperoni into fourths.

They're so cute.

They’re so cute.

2. I then shredded my provolone slices into pieces to mix among the pasta. I think you should keep them as slices but you’ll see what I mean in the later steps.

IMG_6494

3. Shred the fresh mozzarella into pieces.

Here's all I wanted for dinner. But wait it gets better.

Here’s all I wanted for dinner.

4. Pour your pasta into the now boiling water. Cook for the time on the box. I used veggie pasta to try and sneak more veggies in.

It says Veggie on the front so that means you can have more right. Right?

It says Veggie on the front so that means you can have more right. Right?

Pour it in! The Red noodles are just another type of veggie pasta.

Pour it in! The Red noodles are just another type of veggie pasta.

5. Drain Pasta. In the same pot you just cooked the pasta in, wilt the spinach (put a lid on it if you want the spinach to wilt faster).

YUMMY

YUMMY

6. Then add your pizza//tomato sauce. (add the red pepper flakes here). Get the sauce nice and hot.

IMG_6514

Now here is where I am going to tell you to do things I didn’t do. I followed the original recipe and then realized I didn’t really have the best equipment to do this. I’m going to put what I did in parenthesis to follow the pictures.

7. Add the pasta back into the bowl with the spinach and sauce. Mix Well. (I put my pasta and sauce into a baking sheet)

IMG_6517

8. Add the mozzarella, parmesan cheese and italian seasoning to the pasta in the pot. Mix some more. (I just added it to the baking sheet)

IMG_6518

9. Top with the provolone and the rest of the pepperoni. If cooking in the pot, then put a lid on it and melt the provolone cheese. When that’s melted you’re done! (Instead I threw mine under the boiler in my oven.)

IMG_6520

10. And you’re done! It should have the best flavors of pizza. If you keep this as a single pot meal, it should take about 30-40 minutes. With the oven method it only took about 45 minutes, so make it tonight! Eat the delicious pizza (pasta)

IMG_6521

Happy Cooking!

IMG_6527

Also, in other news, I went to an Indy Fuel Game ( the new professional Indy Hockey Team).

IMG_6696

AND MET JIM CORNEILSON (National Anthem Singer for the Blackhawks).

IMG_6676

As a HUGE blackhawks fan, This made my week.

That’s all I wanted to say.

No what I really wanted to say is BE JEALOUS. 🙂

Leave a Reply

