Mom’s Chili with a Twist: What to Eat When Your Sick

Rocket Science Scale: 1 | 2 if you are roasting peppers

So I’m halfway through week four of being sick. Decided to finally see a doctor and now I’m on ALL the drugs. (I have a upper respiratory infection which stands for a cough with a sinus infection).

And when I’m sick, All I want to eat is soup. It’s something about having a giant bowl of broth with some goodies inside. So why isn’t this a chicken noodle soup post?

Not Chicken Noodle Soup.

Not Chicken Noodle Soup.

Because I ate that week one. By week three I was sick of soup and decided I would try something new but familiar. My mom has always made the best chili in the world and I decided broth-y chili would be perfect for my never ending sickness.

IMG_6608

What’s the twist you are asking? Well, I added roasted peppers for some added smokiness and some beer and cider to give it a fall flavor! What I ended up with was the perfect balance of spicy and sweet, getting both flavors in every bite.

Because I never get tired of this picture.

I never get tired of this picture.

Mom’s Chili with a Twist

It's not all pictured. I forgot to grab the cider beforehand.

It’s not all pictured. I forgot to grab the cider beforehand.

The Stuff:

– 1 lb Ground Beef

– 1 small onion

– 1 red pepper and 2 jalapeños [I made these while I was cooking the chili. If you want to save time make a day beforehand] [Instructions on how to roast peppers are here]

– 6 oz tomato paste [Mom never put tomatoes in the chili cause I didn’t like them. And they are gross. But if you like them you can add them]

– 1 cup beer

– 1 cup apple cider [Not juice – juice will make your chili overly sweet]

– 2 tsp chili powder

– 1 tsp salt

– 1/2 tsp cumin

– 1/4 tsp black pepper

– 2 tablespoons brown sugar (mom’s secret ingredient!)

– 1 can chili beans, with sauce (I used the one that’s labeled hot)

– 1 can kidney beans, drained (I like a lot of beans in my chili, but if you don’t, put in either the chili beans or the kidney beans)

Optional Spices:

– a pinch of smoked paprika

– a pinch of garlic powder

– a pinch of cayenne

Optional Sides:

– Cheddar Cheese

– Green onions

– Cornbread

The Steps

1. If roasting your peppers, start roasting them first. The whole process takes about 45 minutes, so they will be ready to throw in your chili at the end. You will be working on the peppers while the chili is cooking but it’s not too bad since chili sits for the most part.

2. Dice your Onion

IMG_6542

3. Heat a saucepan with oil. I recommend using either a large skillet or the pot you are cooking chili in [ONE POT DISH ALERT]. This pan will be used for cooking the beef.

So season your beef with salt and pepper and throw it in the pan with the onion. I did not listen to any of the advice I gave you above and ended up cooking my beef in one of my small skillets. It looked like this.

So messy. But sooo worth it.

So messy. But sooo worth it.

4. Cook beef until it is browned. Then Drain.

Yummy.

Yummy.

IMG_6560

5. Now get out your largest pot (not skillet!). I got this guy for my graduation and it is so useful when cooking soups/chili.

My Big Boy.

My Big Boy.

Now throw in the beef and add your liquids! (beer and cider)

I used Sam Adam's Ocktober fest.

I used Sam Adam’s Ocktober fest.

And this cider.

And this cider.

6. Then add the tomato paste and the beans!

IMG_6574

7. If you made roasted peppers, then add them here.

Unless they are not ready yet. Then just add them later.

Unless they are not ready yet. Then just add them later.

8. Don’t forget to add the spices!

They don't like to be left out. They also flavor the chili and are 100% necessary.

They don’t like to be left out. They also flavor the chili and are 100% necessary.

9. Now mix it all together. and let it sit and simmer. For AT LEAST 45 minutes since you put the liquid in. The longer it sits the more the flavors meld together. I would say at max let it set for an hour and a half because I don’t want you to starve yourself.

IMG_6602

10. And your done! Delicious chili straight from my kitchen. With these instructions, the chili was spicy and sweet at the same time. Add any additional toppings here. I only had cheddar cheese on hand when I made this so thats what went on top!

IMG_6611

I’m in love. And it cleared my sinuses for a few hours, which was awesome.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Mom’s Chili with a Twist: What to Eat When Your Sick

Leave a Reply

