Butternut Squash Soup with Roasted Chickpeas: Fall in Your Mouth (Pt. 2)

Rocket Science Scale: 2

IMG_7186

Sorry this post is so late. This week has been BUSY. So busy that I used all capital letters. Honestly though, I’ve been getting home from work and started writing a post and then never finished it. So then I thought I should change topics and then still didn’t end up finishing the new post.

So here I am a few days later and I hope you’ll forgive me because I brought soup. Fall Soup. Butternut Squash soup. And instead of croutons I used roasted chickpeas. I got this recipe from HowSweetEats.com which is one of my favorite food blogs. Usually when I cook a recipe my goal is to get it as close to the original recipe as possible. For example, I accomplished my goal because the look at this picture. It looks like the original! Yay me!

IMG_7185

I will say though, this soup is straightforward but takes time (took me an hour and twenty minutes from start to finish). And a blender. But it is filling and worth it. I’ve realized out of all the fall flavors, I can get behind the butternut squash. I also started liking zucchini this year, so I’m just going to dub 2014 as the Year of the Squash. So go home and make this soup.

Butternut Squash Soup with Roasted Chickpeas

Recipe from HowSweetEats.com

The Stuff:

IMG_7144

  • 1 Butternut Squash (about 4 cups), cubed
  • 1 sweet onion
  • 2 tablespoons butter and olive oil (for the soup)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg (or cinnamon if you don’t have nutmeg on hand)
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 6 oz smoke gruyere cheese, grated
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • chives for topping
  • 2 cans chickpeas
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil (for the chickpeas)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt, pepper, smoked paprika, cayenne pepper

It may seem like a lot of stuff but it is all worth it.

The Steps

1. I started by grating the gruyere cheese. I like to have most of the dish components prepped before I start cooking to make everything go faster.

IMG_7146

2. Next the star of the dish, the Butternut Squash! Start by cutting some holes in it and then microwave it for a minute/minute and a half (Thanks IGE for the tip!).  This makes it softer and easier to cut. Then peel the skin off (I used a potato peeler), cut in half and de-seed. THEN cube the squash.

Small slit i made on one side. I put in three others.

Small slit i made on one side. I put in three others.

Starting the peeling process and de-seeding

Starting the peeling process and de-seeding

Cubed.

Cubed.

3. Dice your onion. (I didn’t take a picture, sorry :/)

4. At this point, I started on the roasted chickpeas. Heat the oven to 425 degrees F. Drain the chickpeas from the can and pat dry. Put on a baking sheet (use aluminum foil in the baking sheet to keep you pan cleaner, fold the tips up!). Top with olive oil and put the salt, pepper, smoked paprika and cayenne. Toss the chickpeas so each are covered. Roast them for 20 minutes, toss them again and then cook for another 20 minutes.

Ready to go in the oven!

Ready to go in the oven!

5. While the chickpeas are cooking get back to the soup. Start by putting the butter and olive oil in a large soup pan.

IMG_7163

6. Toss in the onions with a pinch of red pepper flakes and salt and stir to coat the onions. The red pepper flakes do not make this soup spicy at all but if you want it spicier add more than a pinch! Cook the onions for about 5 minutes. Then chop and add the garlic and cook for another minute.

IMG_7165

7. Then add the squash and spices (salt, pepper, paprika and nutmeg). Stir the squash to mix. Cover and cook for 6 to 8 minutes.

IMG_7168

IMG_7170

8. Now pour the stock in and bring everything to a simmer. Cook until the squash is tender (I pulled them out of the mixture and they should almost melt in your mouth).

IMG_7172

9. Now its time to go into a blender. I recommend having a clean sink to put the blender (just in case you spill your hot soup pot). Blend the mixture until it is smooth. [around this time the chickpeas should be done]

IMG_7173

IMG_7175

IMG_7176

10. Now pour it back into the pot and if it is not warm, then warm up the soup. Now mix the cheese in handfuls until it melts.

IMG_7178

11. Now stir in the coconut milk and cook again until the soup warms.

IMG_7183

12. And now you are done with the soup! Pour the soup into a bowl and top with the chickpeas. Add some chives and a drizzle of coconut milk.

IMG_7188

It was so good and I will definitely be getting more butternut squash to cook with. So even though it feels like winter over here in Indy, I might keep pretending it is fall.

It looks like the original at HowSweetEats! #Winning

It looks like the original at HowSweetEats! #Winning

Happy Cooking!

What it looks like when you actually start eating it ;)

What it looks like when you actually start eating it 😉

Also although this food post was late, my Sunday Science post will be on schedule!

Leave a Reply

