Sunday Science: V-22 Osprey Flyover

Rocket Science Scale: 5

IMG_7070

This is going to start with a rant and work its way back to the aircraft.

So I recently listened to the TED talk that was talking about “Why”. The speaker was talking about how great companies, speakers and inventors don’t focus on the How or the What but rather the Why. They start with the why and then work to the what and how. This is a concept that can be applied to anything that you do. For example, Why am I an engineer? Why did I choose to work in Aerospace?

IMG_7071

I’ll admit it’s not something I’ve thought about constantly. I’ve realized I love engineering because it challenges me. When working on a project, I’m very fond of asking why. Why does the program run this way? Why did you go with that method instead of this other one? The question Why is the foundation for making engineering decisions.

So Why Aerospace? [There are .gifs after the click!]

Well, I love things that fly. Whether into space or through the air, anything that flies is pretty sweet. Today I’m focusing on the V-22. Mainly because one flew over my workplace (it has RR AE1107C engines on it). Watching something that I could work on actually fly is inspiring. I mean the engines power this:

Hover

And it is interesting because I was a political science minor in college, and in one of my classes the V-22 was declared a “failed” program. It was wayyyyy over budget. About $20 billion over budget. But when you look at what a V-22 does, I don’t know what the government was expecting. The V-22 can operate as either a plane or a helicopter. This means it can take off vertically (like a helicopter) or fly forward like a plane. (Shown in the video below)

V22Flying

Isn’t the awesome!?!?!? Out of all the pictures I took, my favorite was this message, which was right over the engine exhaust. I felt like I was at the bean in Chicago, since I could see myself perfectly in the reflection of the aircraft. (That’s me with the gold scarf).

IMG_7142

All in All, the V-22 Osprey is pretty cool and is an engineering marvel. The fact that this thing can fly is part of why I love aerospace.

Leave a Reply

