Wrapping Up Thanksgiving: How The Food Turned Out

Rocket Science Scale: 3 for the Lasagna, 1 for the Bacon Wrapped Dates.

MAKE THESE FOR CHRISTMAS :D

MAKE THESE FOR CHRISTMAS 😀

So It’s December 3rd. Thanksgiving was already last Thursday. But I thought I’d share the results of everything I cooked with some easy tips I learned while cooking them.

Out of everything I made, the Bacon Wrapped Dates were the best. Easy to make, delicious and filling before the big turkey. All you have to do is pit the dates, put about two almonds in each side of the dates and then wrap in bacon and cook! I pre-made these two days before thanksgiving and then cooked them the day of thanksgiving in my family’s second oven for 25 minutes at 375 (second oven’s are the best thing ever).

Dates Stuffed with Almonds

Dates Stuffed with Almonds

Then Wrapped with Bacon!

Then Wrapped with Bacon!

And Cooked!

And Cooked!

Pro-Tip: I used a wine glass and chopstick to easily pit the dates. Put the date at the top, push the chopstick through the top until the pit falls into the wine glass!

IMG_7593

Next was the Butternut Squash Lasagna from my first cookbook Seriously Delish. It was a great vegetarian side to the overall Turkey Dinner. I rated it higher on my cooking scale because 1) the recipe I followed didn’t really have enough filling to stuff the lasagna 2) I had to precook the lasagna noodles 3) The recipe called for 16 of those noodles and a 8 by 8 pan. My pan was smaller so I cooked all the noodles and didn’t need them. 4) It has this awesome béchamel sauce but it should definitely be doubled. Unfortunately, I took only one picture of the finished product but here are some cooking photos!

Lots of sage and shallots went into this lasagna.

Lots of sage and shallots went into this lasagna.

Butternut Squash

Butternut Squash

Finished Product!

Finished Product!

Pro Tip: I think from now, I’ll always make double the lasagna stuffing. If I have any leftover, I’ll just eat it with regular pasta and have an extra meal!

Last, I made some Goat Cheese Truffles which I didn’t really like. To me, they were too salty and I’ll probably just stick to baked goat cheese in the future. I don’t know if it was because I subbed almonds instead of pistachios or something else but they ended up looking pretty.

The lone truffle I took a picture of.

The lone truffle I took a picture of.

Pro Tip: So I pounded my own almonds for the crust. This is one of the most relaxing things you can do and by relaxing, I realize I meant stress relieving. I used my chicken hammer to smash them into pieces.

SMASH SMASH SMASH

SMASH SMASH SMASH

Now I’ll try and have a new food post coming either Thursday or Friday, and it will be something completely unrelated to Thanksgiving (Finally!!).

I am so ready for Christmas guys. I only have one more gift to get for Christmas and then I’m done. Yay Black Friday and Cyber Monday 😀

Happy December! Go Find a Christmas Tree!

I already found the Biggest one in Chicago :)

I already found the Biggest one in Chicago 🙂

Leave a Reply

