‘Greek’ Mac & Cheese: Just Throw it All in the Skillet

Rocket Science Scale: 1 – Straightforward

IMG_7712

So I’ve signed up for one of those ‘deliver to your door’ grocery services. I get fresh produce every other Thursday and if I need anything else, I pick it up at the Indy Winter’s Farmer Market. But after Thanksgiving, I had no groceries and basically no food in my apartment. I even ran out of milk pretty early in the week, so I just relied on the $1 oatmeal at work for my breakfast instead of my usually boring bowl of cereal. (I realized while typing this I eat the most boring breakfasts during the week)

So what do you do when you are practically out of food? You just throw everything into a skillet. And call it a pasta bowl. Specifically, I made a ‘Greek’ Mac & Cheese. And my version of Mediterranean means that there are artichoke hearts, spinach, some bell peppers and black olives. Along with a lot of cheese.

I turned a block of cheese into a shredded block of cheese.

I turned a block of cheese into a shredded block of cheese.

From all the cooking I did last week, I had a lot of leftover cheese which had just been sitting in my fridge. So I just threw it in along with the pasta and veggies. This Mac & Cheese is not too traditional since I did not make a roux to make a thick cheese sauce. Instead, I just hoped that the goat cheese would add that extra creaminess.  (I think it did!)

All in All, this is a homemade recipe that allows for some pretty easy cooking. I had it ready in about a half hour and only needed two pots (one for boiling pasta, the other being a large skillet). It’s a great weeknight dinner and it made about 4 servings!

‘Greek’ Mac & Cheese

Recipe by Me!

The Stuff:

IMG_7686

  • Spinach ( I used over half of the 11 oz container above)
  • Red Pepper: I had a fresh one that was about to go bad and one roasted red pepper left over. So I threw them both in!
  • A can of artichoke heats
  • A can of black olives (One of my favorites)
  • About half an onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • ~8oz block of havarti cheese.
  • ~3 oz of goat cheese
  • I also added about a tablespoon of pecorino romano. This is where if you want a more greek cheese, use feta.
  • Enough pasta to feed the amount of people your serving! (I threw what probably amounts to about 2/3 of a pasta box)
  • About two pinches of red pepper flakes, generous salt and pepper and a pinch of nutmeg

The Steps:

1. Start boiling water with some salt for the pasta. While that is coming to a boil, rinse off your canned or jarred veggies.

IMG_76872. Now chop up the fresh red pepper, about half an onion and your garlic.

IMG_7692

3. Throw the pasta into the boiling water and then grate the havarti cheese.

IMG_7689

4. Heat up a large skillet and add some olive oil. Then throw in the red peppers and onion and cook until softened (about 5-8 minutes).

Also add some salt and pepper.

Also add some salt and pepper.

5. Now wilt the spinach and add the chopped garlic.

Pre-wilting

Pre-wilting

Yummy!

Yummy!

6. Now add all the drained veggies, to heat them up. Stir everything to mix well.

IMG_7706

7. Add the pasta and remove the skillet from the heat. Add the red pepper flakes and nutmeg.

IMG_7708

8. And now the best part! Take the skillet off the heat and add the cheeses! Mix together until everything melts.

IMG_7710

9. And Ta-Dah! You should have a creamy Greek Mac & Cheese. If you want a thinner cheese sauce, I would add some pasta water to the mix. Otherwise, Enjoy!

IMG_7713

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “‘Greek’ Mac & Cheese: Just Throw it All in the Skillet

Leave a Reply

