Mini Cinnamon Rolls: Perfect for Christmas Morning

Rocket Science Scale: 1 – Easy Peasy

IMG_7856

When I think of Christmas, my mind jumps to Christmas morning. The tree up with presents surrounding it. The thought of ten trillion presents from Santa sitting around that tree. Getting up at 6 am to open said presents.

Yes I did say 6 AM. Even crazier, my sisters and I would wake up around 12/1 AM to just look at the presents. We would sneak downstairs with flashlights and just look at the size of the boxes. That tradition has now passed on to my youngest sister and brother. (We have pushed the 6 AM present time to 7 AM. Oh the signs of growing up).

I realized that I own no pictures of my family opening Christmas presents. Problems of growing up before digital cameras.

I realized that I own no pictures of my family opening Christmas presents. Problems of growing up before digital cameras.

So while my siblings and I would look through the stockings and begin sorting the presents into corners, my parents would make a cup of coffee. About a half hour later, all the presents would be open and we’d be off playing while my parents made breakfast. And by the time breakfast would be ready, we had all burned through at least that first toy.

You can tell we were normal children.

You can tell we were normal children.

I think this recipe would be a sweet bite to have ready while opening presents. Maybe turn that half hour sprint into an hour. At least in a house with older kids, who no longer want to rush the Christmas morning experience.

IMG_7853

These cinnamon rolls can be ready in 8 – 10 minutes. They are the perfect bite of sugar in the morning. Plus, I’ve included some coffee in the icing to wake you up. For those 6 AM christmas mornings. The recipe is adapted from Iowa Girl Eats. I will also be sharing some tips on how to mass produce them since I made about 80 of them for my office (we have a December Goodies celebration and I wanted to make sure everyone got at least two).

10 Minute Mini Cinnamon Rolls

Recipe from Iowa Girl Eats

Icing Inspired by the Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls

The Stuff (for the rolls):

IMG_7809

  • Crescent Roll Tubes (Again I was mass producing, thats why I had 5)
  • Cinnamon and Brown Sugar (I thought of using nutmeg, but then decided not to)
  • Butter! (2 tablespoons x4 or x5)

The Stuff (for the Icing):

IMG_7807

  • 3/4 cups of Powdered Sugar (x4)
  • 1 teaspoon of Maple Syrup (x4)
  • 1 tablespoon of Milk (x4)
  • 1 tablespoon of your favorite coffee!! (x4) Cafe Du Monde is my favorite that’s what I put in my icing.

Amounts that were given are for 5x the amount of rolls but for 4x the amount of icing. I had leftover icing so I thought it was enough. See Iowa Girl Eats for normal amounts.

The Steps:

1. Unroll the crescent roll dough.

IMG_7810

IMG_7811

2. Spread some melted butter over the dough. Cover in brown sugar and cinnamon. Put as much or as little as you want! This is what I love about this recipe.

IMG_7821

3. Roll into a log and cut into mini bite size pieces.

IMG_7824

4. Now either a) store overnight to be baked in the morning or b) follow the directions on the crescent roll dough for cooking. I made these the next morning so I stored them overnight.

IMG_7816

5. When baking you have a couple of options. You can use a mini cupcake tin for the perfect bites.

IMG_7846

If you don’t own a mini cinnamon roll tin, Use a regular cupcake tin. I put two in for every one cupcake spot in a normal spot. They bake kinda funny but it works.

IMG_7851

If you put one mini cinnamon roll in a large cupcake spot, it just won’t be bite-sized. As shown below.

IMG_7854

6. Now mix the ingredients for the icing together. Pour over cooked cinnamon rolls.

IMG_7845

IMG_7855

7. Time to Devour! Here’s what I had left of my 80 mini cinnamon rolls. If you can’t trust a bunch of nerdy engineers’ taste buds, who can you trust!? (On the other hand don’t answer that. I’m pretty sure my office would eat anything).

IMG_7857

Cooking Bonus: I made these while watching the Charlie Brown Christmas Special. If you ever want it to feel like Christmas, cook while watching Charlie Brown. It will feel and smell like the holiday!

IMG_7837

One thought on “Mini Cinnamon Rolls: Perfect for Christmas Morning

Leave a Reply

