Homemade Mediterranean Pizza: ALLL the Toppings

Rocket Science Scale: 3 – Moderately Complicated

IMG_8256

The Krusty Krab Pizza, Is the pizza, For you and me. And I don’t say that about a lot of pizzas.

IMG_8257

Also I use “Mediterranean” loosely as this pizza was inspired by the ingredient list of the Mediterranean pizza of a local pizza place (Bazbeaux Pizza). Their descriptor had feta cheese, chorizo, pepperoni, house roasted red peppers and spinach. Which Sounds like a fantastic (albeit slightly pretentious….. you know my feelings). So I decided to recreate it with mostly the same ingredients, but instead I used roasted red peppers from a jar, added some black olives, used goat cheese instead of feta (goat cheese is my favorite), and lastly kale instead of spinach.

IMG_8259

I also made my own cheese blend (Mozzarella and some pecorino romano). Plus, instead of traditional pizza sauce from a jar, I used some marinara sauce from a jar with some extra tomato sauce. Lastly, I made homemade crust with the recipe from Seriously Delish. Homemade pizza really is the best, even with ten trillion toppings on it. Specifically, when you put on those ten trillion toppings.

Mediterranean Pizza

Inspired by Bazbeaux Pizza

Serves a crowd

The Stuff:

  • 8 oz Fresh Mozzarella Cheese, a 1/3 cup of pecorino romano (or parmesan cheese), and about 4 oz of goat cheese.
  • 1 red pepper, roasted (either from a jar or homemade)
  • Pepperoni (as much to cover your pizza)
  • Black olives
  • About a half lb of chorizo
  • Marinara or Pizza Sauce (Put as much as you want on your pizza!)
  • Enough Kale to cover the pizza
  • Salt, Black Pepper and Crushed Red Peppers to taste.
  • A pre-made or homemade pizza crust. There are many recipes out there, again I used the one from the howsweeteats cookbook. I think the blog has one on the website.

The Steps:

1. Start with your crust. If you are using a pre-made one you are good to go, if it’s homemade, then start a few hours before you are hungry, the dough will need time to rise. Also make sure not roll the dough out too much, the dough needs to be able to hold the toppings.

I rolled mine into a funny shape.

I rolled mine into a funny shape.

2. Shred your mozzarella cheese and pecorino on a plate and mix. The original recipe was a mozz, parm and provolone mix, but I didn’t have any provolone on hand. It would probably taste delicious with it! Also, keep the Goat cheese separate because it is more of a topping then part of the basic mix.

The Cheeses!

The Cheeses!

IMG_8232

3. Next cook your chorizo. I added some cut up shallots and a little bit of salt and pepper. I also cooked the entire pound and used about half for the pizza.  I saved the rest for a chorizo breakfast hash I made for brunch last weekend.

IMG_8239

Pro-Tip: Make sure to drain the chorizo after it cooks! Chorizo is literally one of the most greasy sausages out there but it is incredibly tasty.

4. Time to Layer! This is the best part of homemade pizza.

4a. Start with pizza sauce. (This is where I added some red pepper flakes)

IMG_8245

4b. Next the cheese mixture

IMG_82464c. Next is the Pepperoni.

IMG_8247This is where you could stop if you want a regular pizza. Onto pretentious pizza!

4d. Next is the chorizo and roasted red peppers (diced). Also, now is the time add the black olives, but I didn’t take a picture.

IMG_8249

4e. Lastly, the kale and goat cheese! With these on tops, the kale will be nice and crunchy while the goat cheese will be like slightly crunchy pillows of cheese. My favorite.

IMG_82525. Now, bake the pizza! I cooked the pizza at 425 for 15 -20 minutes. I’d recommend checking after 15 minutes to make sure it is not burning. I don’t have a pizza stone or anything, so just use what you have.

Ta-Dah! You have homemade pizza. I really liked this combination of flavors. I think the next time I make pizza though, I’ll probably make a bunch of small pizzas, because the crust pieces are my favorite.

IMG_8256

Also the crust recipe held up extremely well and I highly recommend it. This recipe reheats pretty well, even though kale doesn’t. So make sure to eat the kale pieces right away. Also, don’t skip on the goat cheese. It’s the best part.

IMG_8262

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

