Loaded (Baked) Cajun Fries

Rocket Science Scale: 2

IMG_8440

Not the prettiest dish, but one of the tastier ones.

So it’s been a while. Life has been busy. I have half started post and then stopped. BUT, I needed to share this recipe.

It is spicy. And filling. Plus kind of healthy? I mean, I put some vegetables on top of my fries.

These Veggies

Also, these would be great with cheese on top. Or avocado. And green onions. I also have other ideas to make this recipe better, so I might give it a repost in the future.

Things I wouldn’t change? The carrot ribbons. Don’t know why, but I was really excited about them and thought they were fantastic in this. I’d also probably keep the diced red pepper. But I’d probably change the sausage from an Italian sausage to an andouille and regular sausage mix. Also, the green peas were not the right green for loaded fries, but they were the only ones I had so in they went!

Loaded Baked Cajun Fries

IMG_8441

Fries slightly adapted from Minimalist Baker

Serves 2-3

THE STUFF:

I only used three of these potatoes

I only used three of these potatoes. Also ignore my old red pepper in the corner XD

– 2-3 medium sized potatoes

– 2 Tbsp olive oil

– Cajun Spice Mixture: 1/2 tsp salt, 1.5 tsp garlic powder, smoked paprika, dried oregano, and onion powder, 1 tsp dried thyme, 1/4 tsp black pepper and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper.

NOTE: I put more than 1/4 tsp cayenne and it made the fried HOT. Stick to the 1/4 if you want moderate spice and use less if you want not spicy fries.

– 1/2 lb Italian sausage (I’d recommend switching to an andouille if you want more Cajun flair)

– Carrot Ribbons (I used 5 full sized carrots)

– 1 red pepper, diced

-Handful of sugar snap peas, or some other type of green.

The Steps:

1. Cut the potatoes into thin sticks. I left the potato skins on. I’d say cut the potatoes how you want to eat your fries! Transfer to a bowl.

Patience is Key.

Patience is Key.

2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. While the oven is heating up, cut up the veggies to go into the loaded fries. I diced a red pepper and created carrot ribbons! To make the ribbons, use a potato peeler and peel the carrots. I used some fancy rainbow carrots, so my dish had some yellow and purple to it.

IMG_8426

3. Next mix up the cajun spice mixture! Afterwards, pour some olive oil over your fries followed by the spice mixture and mix it all together. Then spread out the fries on a baking sheet.

I forgot to take a picture of most of the above things. But here is a picture of potatoes with olive oil.

I forgot to take a picture of most of the above things. But here is a picture of potatoes with olive oil.

4. By now, hopefully the oven is ready to go and pop in the fries! Bake for 15 minutes and then flip and cook for another 10 to 15 minutes (I did 13).

This is what they should look like

This is what they should look like… YUMMY

5. While the fries are baking, cook the sausage in a heated pan over medium heat.

IMG_8430

6. Then drain the sausage and throw in the red pepper and snap peas. Cook that for about 3-5 minutes and then add the carrot ribbons (which need less cook time). Once they are cooked, add the sausage back in, just enough to warm up.

IMG_8433

7. Finally, take out the fries. Put them on a separate plate, add the toppings and enjoy!

IMG_8436

Hidden Fries, ALL THE TOPPINGS

Pretty easy to make and pretty delicious.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

